How the main DipFA study options compare on price, mocks and support
The diploma itself costs £1,475. Preparation on top runs from under £10 a module to £1,850 for classroom tuition.
What you're studying for
The LIBF Level 4 Diploma for Financial Advisers has six modules and 11 units. Modules 1 to 5 are multiple-choice exams on regulation and ethics, taxation, investment, protection and retirement planning, with a 70% pass mark. Module 6 is coursework, an essay response to a fact find, with a 50% pass mark.2
Registering for all six costs £1,475, or £330 for Module 1, £275 each for Modules 2 to 5 and £215 for Module 6. The fee includes study materials, specimen exams and the first sitting of each exam. Resits cost £120 a unit and £215 for the coursework.1
The options compared
Prices are as each provider published them on 17 October 2026, and exclude the LIBF fee unless stated.
| Option | Type | Price | Timed mocks | Explanations | Coursework help | Provider's own claims |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Walbrook Institute London (LIBF) | Awarding body | £1,475 full diploma (required) | One specimen exam per multiple-choice exam | Not stated | Specimen assignment | None |
| DipFA Practice | Mock exams | £29.99 one-off, lifetime; £9.99 a module | 34 across the ten multiple-choice units | On every question | None | None |
| Douglas James Training | Question packs and workshop | £45 FSRE packs; £40 practice papers (Modules 2–5); £175 + VAT coursework workshop | Practice papers, number not stated | Not stated | Workshop | None |
| Clarity Financial Training | Tuition | £895 distance; £1,600 webinar; £1,850 classroom; mocks £25 a module | Mock quizzes, 7 days' access | "Fully explained answers" | Coursework webinar | Coursework "Pass Guarantee, subject to our terms" |
| Simply Academy | Live webinar tuition | £125–£575 a module + VAT (£1,950 + VAT for all six) | Practice exams, number not stated | Not stated | Module 6 workshop | "High pass rates" |
How to choose
The split is between practice and teaching. Mock-exam sites and question packs suit candidates working from the LIBF materials who want timed practice in the exam's format. Tuition suits those who want the material taught, and is the only route here with direct help on the coursework.
Clarity and Douglas James are LIBF accredited learning support providers, and Simply Academy is an LIBF trusted partner. We left out providers whose sites we couldn't open, and one whose course doesn't follow the LIBF's module structure.3
DipFA Practice is owned by Lending Intelligence's owner. It was judged on the same information as every other option: what each provider publishes on its own website.
Sources
- 1Walbrook Institute London (LIBF), “Diploma for Financial Advisers (DipFA)”Fees, what they include, resits and coursework dates.
- 2Walbrook Institute London (LIBF), “DipFA qualification specification (July 2026)”Modules, units, exam format and pass marks.
- 3Walbrook Institute London (LIBF), “Accredited learning support providers”Clarity and Douglas James as accredited providers.
- 4DipFA Practice, “DipFA mock exams”£29.99 and £9.99 prices, 34 mocks, explanations, no coursework mocks.
- 5Douglas James Training, “DipFA revision”Question pack, practice paper and workshop prices.
- 6Clarity Financial Training, “Prices”Distance, webinar and classroom prices; mock quiz prices.
- 7Simply Academy, “DipFA courses”Module fees plus VAT and its pass-rate claim.
Information only, not advice. Spotted an error? See our corrections policy.